pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Christmas Eve

We were in need of some fresh air, so we headed out to a place where I used to go fishing as a lad: Danbury Lakes.

Quite a lot had changed, but the one thing that had remained the same was the swirly tree with the hole in it and so, like I had done many many years ago, my three children all piled in there for a photo opportunity.

We had a lovely wander and it certainly blew the cobwebs away before we headed round to my sister’s place for a lovely Christmas Eve lasagne lunch followed by cake. Whilst we were sat around nursing our bloated tums, m’boy stepped up with a Christmas Quiz that he had lovingly prepared for us all and it was really good fun. As ever it was all about who won (me) and not the taking part that counted.

We had another wander post-lunch to try and get a poorly young nephew off to sleep, but it wasn’t to be - gave the children time to burn off some excess Christmas energy though!

Shortly thereafter, we went our separate ways and my lot returned to my parents to prepare for the arrival of the big guy…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.