pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Christmas: Phase Two

From the calm and tranquillity of a Christmas Day with The Eldest to the contained chaos of Boxing Day with the family!

In between was a long blast down the M6 complete with the Hamilton soundtrack (upon request from the children) and a follow up “Examilton” courtesy of a present from Simmo. When we arrived, the car had barely stopped moving before the wee ones were up and out of their seats to burst into their grandparent’s house to enjoy welcoming cuddles from them and auntie, uncle and adoring little cousin.

The cousins held out well, before eventually the lure of the pile of presents proved too much and like a team of velociraptors who have cornered they prey, they began tearing in. I was delighted to see that in the story as old as time, the cardboard box I had brought their presents down in proved as popular as new video games and was used as a means of transporting their cousin about the house.

We had a lovely afternoon of catching up and enjoyed the obligatory Boxing Day cold cuts and watched m’boy demolish a truly heroic amount of plum tomatoes. 

I was grateful for the Christmas telly being so bad, as it meant that after the children were down, I was able to sit and wind down with uninterrupted conversation with my parents.

It has been a Christmas of two very different, but very lovely halves spent with those most important to me and I guess that’s what it is all about, isn’t it?

I hope that you have had a good one too! 

(today’s blip is of one of the lights in the garden - I’ve put another one in the extras, which is quite cool, but not particularly Christmassy…)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.