Christmas Day

I'm not sure how he knew it was Christmas Day, as the presents have been out all week, but this is what I saw when I went down for breakfast this morning! 

Needless to say there were presents for him. He seemed to prefer the loudest squeakiest toy of course and it made me wish I hadnt had that extra glass of wine last night.

The cool air on our walk helped blow the cobwebs away. The walk up to the sea wall and alongside the marsh was very quiet apart from a couple of teenagers having fun on their electric scooters

Back home and a phone call from our friends and then preparations for our Christmas dinner. This year a 3  bird roast. We'd saved up a special bottle of red that had been given to M a couple of months ago. But on opening it it smelt off ( almost 'corked'though it was a screw top ) and after tentatively  tasting it we decided wed not risk drinking it. But our usual Yellow Tail was acceptable  but I only had the one. 

Looking at the news tonight I see the Patterdale Mountain rescue team were called out this morning because some idiot had decided to go wild camping and woke up unable to walk. It took 15 of them 6 hours to get him down on the one day they really would have wanted to be at home. I felt very cross on their behalf. It has also boosted my admiration for a fantastic team of people who do this as volunteers. 

I hope wherever you are you had a pleasant happy day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.