Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Thank you Jan

Not much by way of photos from yesterday, two rather unflattering ones of Jan in the kitchen and this one of our Christmas table before we got started with lunch.

My day started with conversations with two people on opposite sides of the world about poorly dogs, which mean a great deal to them and ended with a drive home in the dark from a still frozen Hollow Meadows to a more thawed out Crane Moor.  I wasn’t late home as I don’t really like driving in the dark.

In between Jan (I typed Ann - what kind of Freudian slip is that) cooked us a very ambitious Christmas lunch.  My starter of smoked trout tasted good and looked good, though the tale of trying to make sure the eggs were cooked enough was a saga in itself.

Christmas presents had not been something to stress over between Ann and I for the last few years  (or more) as Christmas definitely had more religious significance for her.  I now have a few more paints to use for my Gelli-prints, thanks to my son and family and a book of Carol Ann Duffy poems, `Rapture’, which I think was published at the end of her 15 year relationship with Jackie Kay.  Thank you Jan and also thank you for helping me to come through a difficult emotional barrier.

I’m hoping that both canine stories have happy endings, one sounded reasonably reassuring and the other from Australia seemed to be dependent on my daughter giving daily injections.  I’ll find out more this morning (Boxing Day).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.