The Pepper Patch

By PepperG

To the Love of St. John

Continuing my exploration and celebration of the traditions of the 12 days of Christmas leading up to Twelfth Night and Epiphany.

It's the Feast day of St. John the Apostle, the best friend of Jesus and described as the disciple "whom Jesus loved".

Though the song speaks metaphorically of the gift of three French Hens, thought to represent the Trinity, it was traditional in households to drink to the "love of St. John", most often with a wine served warm with mulling spices. The elder in the household would be the first the toast to his wife saying "I drink you the love of St. John", her reply being "I thank you for the love of St. John". She would then take the cup and continue by toasting the next in the family, each repeating the toast and replying until the youngest in the family had been included in the blessing.

I must admit that of the traditions I've discovered as I read and explore the traditions of Christmastide - this one warms me to the heart and, even though it will have to be with my cuppa tea ...I drink you the love of St. John

Though we find ourselves in troubling times, have a good day friends. Be safe. Be kind. Care ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.