The Pepper Patch

By PepperG

The Feast of Stephen

He who now will bless the poor,
Shall find yourselves a blessing.
Good King Wenceslas verse 5


I don't particularly care for the popular version of the song "Twelve days of Christmas" but in an effort to make up for my previously noted unraveled Christmas spirit, I intend to observe Christmastide, the days between now and the Epiphany and Twelvth Night.

First step - learn more about the traditions and symbols (it's not commonly observed in my part of the world) so Blippers who can help with my education will be rewarded with a smile and a thank you.

Today I know is both Boxing Day and the Feast Day of Saint Stephen. Happily I now have a much better appreciation for Good King Wenceslas and, being an old social worker that came charging out of the 60s intent on saving the world, I wish I had learned the legend behind the carol sooner.

Be safe. Be kind. Care ... and, as I have been known to observe even in these unsettled times, the adventure continues.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.