Reflections

A beautiful morning after a stormy night, the river Teign at bursting point. Plenty of water on the roads as I headed down to Mum's. Indie rearing to go as always ... I settled for a circular walk of CK heath again. Indie loves to follow the scents, pulling on the lead, so far more pleasurable for both of us if she's off the lead. A couple of fire engines heading up to Hennock with sirens going as they hit the narrow lanes Some huge puddles, a few broken branches, plus a few young birch trunks actually snapped. We were just on the home stretch when I caught sight of a deer moving through the undergrowth out of the corner of my eye, so I quickly grabbed Indie before she spotted it. Phew! That was close ... If I'd been in an enclosed part of the heath I would'nt have worried but we were nearing the road so best to be safe. We did a lap of the far stretch of heath where I coppiced my hazel bean sticks last year. Won't need any for the 2021 season.
Back to base for a coffee then Mum came back up with me. Today she tried her first ever bought pizza. I bought a veggie pizza from the Coop and pimped it up with bacon & salami. Mum makes her own with a scone base. I've never sampled it. "How was the pizza?" .... "It was okay" .. That's a not impressed then. Lol!! We watched the horse racing on tv. Chepstow abandoned due to waterlogging so no Welsh National today. Mum had a winner, I had a winner & a 3rd place. All a bit of fun. Dropped Mum home and came back with a box of biscuits plus a box Bailey's cream liqueurs. Mum had 5 x 1ltr bottles of Bailey's for Xmas. I bought her 1 as she told me she did'nt have any.  Well, she won't be wanting any omre for a while that's for sure. She also had a load of other sweet stuff from my brother & his  wife. She makes up a hamper for Mum every Xmas, the sad fact is that she does'nt like a lot of it but does'nt like to mention to my brother in case the wife gets iffy about it. Such a waste of money but there it is. She'll get more chocolates for Mothering Sunday .......She's not exercising the dog now, so I'll have to get her a fitness trainer. I reckon :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.