I LOVE .........

I LOVE is the remains of a flip flop sole found on the beach in Thailand, one of many that I collected on my daily walks either up onto the mountainside or along the beach. I upcycled/repurposed some into pieces of art. This one made it home to Devon, England when we left Thailand four years ago.
I LOVE recycling my vegetable waste into compost, which is what I was doing this morning, visiting my allotment to check all was well after Storm Bella, filling the bird feeders with Jorgiesmum 's parrot food ( the bits they turned their beaks up at). Emptying the kitchen veg waste into the composter bin, I have 3 on the go at the mo at different stages, plus the yellowing leaves from my purple sprouting brassica's growing on the plot. I took the 4 2ltr empty plastic bottles from the cider up to the site as well. I'll use them in the growing season, plunged into the ground beside the roots of pumpkins & courgettes, a perfect way to get the liquid feed to the roots.
I LOVE  a visit to the Community Fridge in the town. I nipped in after I'd been to the Coop. It's not a food bank as such, just a place to put anything you don't need hoping that someone else can make use of it. Today I picked up a pack of brown bread rolls, a pack of celery, sweet red pepper & 2 Danish pastries. All had a Sell by date 28/12/20. The Danish have gone in the freezer, the bread will either feed the birds or make breadcrumbs for cooking. I always have a stick of celery in the fridge for soups, braising, savoury stuffings. The red pepper will be going in the salsa accompanying tonight's barbecued pork ribs. Lots of bread products, chilled prepared veg, & virtually ALWAYS hands of bananas, perfect for icecream, banana cake, soup ..... There is also a clothes bank outside. The local school benefit apparently, not sure how.
I LOVE my wormery. The worms are still really active as I'm keeping them warm with a double layer of old carpet on the roof of the wormery. They munch on my kitchen veg waste, no onion or garlic, & produce a small amount of beautiful rich compost, plus a liquid fertlizer, suitable for general garden use. They had a titivate this morning, moving the veg waste around a bit then adding some rotten apples. I picked & stored many apples from a friends tree back in the Autumn. She was'nt going to pick or use them. :-(( Such a waste! I stored them individually wrapped in pieces of old newspaper but a few are turning. I sliced some in halves for the blackbirds, the very rotten sections going into the wormery.
I LOVE doing my bit in attempting to make our world a greener space.

Thanks to carolinav for hosting Mono - GREEN "Your idea of an ecological world"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.