The Wofflings Of A Doris

By DorisOrDwagon

Splash of colour on a grey day

A nothingy day of greyness and snow sprinkles.

Al went to the footy at Bolton, I went to Hyde to look at the outdoor market area which seems to have had a revamp, in the hope that it would be a-hustling and a-bustling so I could use the Big Stopper to get some long exposures and a bit of motion. Have had a bit of a hankering for some people pics/candids this week, but it was a bit of a let down as the market was really quiet and nothingy.

I spotted the Chartist statue across the road outside the Town Hall - I only managed to photograph it from one position (skyward from below) and then, only part of it, because of the distracting backgrounds. It could have been my blip... I may put that on my blip list for another time.

I tried a bit of shooting from the hip, mainly unsuccessfully - but I was drawn to this little chap's colourful hat. When I processed it I noticed the similarity in the shape of the bank window and the hat (or is that just me?!) and the pattern inside his hood! He's become my bobble-hatted blip boy.

Took a scenic route home and had a walk in Stamford Park, hoping that the conservatory might be open. Padlocked up and clearly being cleared out ready to replant. Nothingy in the Park too, hardly anyone about. A man stopped for a chat about photography... or rather to ask if I could recommend a camera - he did say he realised it was like asking how long a piece of string was... but we chatted for a while and I persuaded him not to buy a new camera for at least a week and to try his newish Nikon bridge camera on Aperture mode instead of scenes/auto mode, and to get a good book/read lots/practice lots/look at other images and perhaps join a club (not ours, we're full!)

Spotted some beautiful clumps of mini iris on the way out and although I took some images I wished I'd had my macro lens with me.

Had a quiet evening, drop of splosh left over from Christmas, and a Chinese takeaway and Al stoked the fire up... phew, it ain't half hot mum

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.