The Wofflings Of A Doris

By DorisOrDwagon

The duck that broke my blipping back

Well today was the day I decided to pack in the 365 element of Blip and just do it on an 'as and when' basis. I've had a few days where I've struggled and really gone out of my way to get an image I've been happy with. Today I WANTED to take an image of what I could see would be interesting - the ice formations under the waterfall bit of our pond. The plants were encased in bulbous ice and made great shapes, they looked like mis-shaped marbles with the plants looking like the coloured bits inside, but I just couldn't get the image how I wanted... not without falling in anyway!

I noticed our plastic duck was stuck upside down in some ice round the edge, leant over and managed to free it by flicking it - it landed on some ice in the middle. Now I could have got a bamboo stick, of which we have many but decided to lob stones at it until it slid off the ice and floated again. The whole idea of what I must look like pelting a plastic duck made me laugh so I took a photo of it looking a bit worse for wear having been upside down in a corner for some time - a very desperate duck.

I then spent time indoors in my messy lightbox room trying to photograph an old necklace and a perfume bottle ... just couldn't get in the mood for taking photos - ended up with a wilty white flower from the bunch from the beginning of the month that was ok I suppose.

Maybe it was just the way I felt that evening, I just began to think 'why am I doing this - I've a stick full of photos I didn't want to take and folders full of images I do want to process and organise, plus reading material all on my huge to do list, and here I am agonising over a duck and a dead flower - this is ridiculous'. I decided to pack the 365 in right there, got a magazine out and felt immediately better.

It's me... not blip!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.