Stirling Castle

I rarely blip the castle because it feels a bit hackneyed. But maybe it's only hackneyed to me. I see it every day and it's just part of the built environment. It might be of some interest to blippers from further afield.

It was looking splendid this morning in the bright winter sun. There was a lovely glowing sunrise but it's cloudier now. Still cold but dry and still. Perfect winter weather really with snow on the hills but not at street level.

After a good, early-ish walk I was back to enjoy an online festive lunch. This is an annual event involving a multi-generational group of women friends. We all used to live in Stirling though we're scattered now. We had hoped that our friend currently in Queensland could join us but she got held up at work. I think we'll not wait another year given how easy it is to set up a get together online. It was so good to see everyone.

I'm cooking tonight and it will be that late December standby turkey fricassée. I'll need plenty of vegetables to bulk it out as there's not much turkey left and anyway I'm not a great meat eater. It will also use up the turkey stock and, if I can bear to part with it, the remaining few dribbles of the super dry sherry that is another Christmas tradition here.

Got the tulip bulbs planted yesterday and cast an eye over the wreckage of seed heads and stalks in the garden. Decided to leave them for the birds. It's really cold working in a garden where there's next to no winter sun to be had.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.