Capital adventures

By marchmont

A Grand Day Out

Another night of broken sleep, the most abrupt brought about by a sudden crash on modern piece on R3, 1920's/30's I think.  Luckily I got back to sleep.

It feels odd not to be rolling out of bed at 8 to get to the pool but this morning I was glad that was ruled out, there was a hard frost and all was white outside.

Monday so laundry and a call of help from J, to go the other Manor to switch on the electric, for the boiler.  Given the frost and the forecast I took all the pot plants in - into the office and the shower and wherever I could find space.  And I flattened the cardboard mountain.  Not sure it will all fit in the green bin for Thursday.

After 'How to Vaccinate the World' it was down to Manor 2 and then off to Colinton.  It was cold but bright.  I wanted to visit the Colinton Tunnel mural, which is very impressive.  It was busy, meaning there were other people there, not crowds, plenty families out enjoying the walkway.  Of course. Of course being back in Colinton led to a nostalgia trip.  First down to the Kirk.  I stood and looked out of the doorway, as I'd done almost 44 years ago. Then a walk round the graveyard, James Gillespie and Lewis Blafour and his large family.  Hadn't realised the link to Timaru, RLS's uncle, a Balfour, drowned there 'the upsetting of a boat'. 

Walked up the Long Steps and then all the way up Dreghorn Loan. Kept going to see the 'new' houses in the Polo Fields.  When was I there last?  Certainly over 50 years ago. I ended up wandering through the woods.  No fear of being chased out by the Army any more - they are open to the public and again there were groups of people enjoying the crisp weather, and the mud underfoot. But it was easy to stay 'socially distanced'.  And I bumped into A, from choir, one of the only 2 people I still know in Colinton. What a coincidence! The Woods are a bit more manicured than they were when we used to climb over the fence in Redford Loan but it was good to see there is still a tyre swing over the Burn,  just as we had.
Then back down Westgarth Avenue to the car.  It makes you feel old when you can look at a house and remember when the annexe was the doctor's surgery. That wasn't yesterday!

Home to finish the wee cross stitch.  Just got to work out how to fit it in the holder.  Now some post Christmas tv - many quizzes!

I had to separate Willow and the neighbour's tortie this morning.  I think Willow was in danger of coming off worse.  She now has a scratched nose and has been very happy to be inside though difficult to sew with a cat on your lap!

F2F - 2
Phone calls - 2
Virtual - 0

The extras are the Tunnel, the Kirk, the Water of Leith and Allermuir from the Polo Fields. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.