Strawhouse

By strawhouse

Waddesdon Winter Lights

10th December
Only five hours at work this morning as I had an appointment at the hairdressers. I made an appointment for 11am foolishly thinking that I finished at 9.45am! Luckliy no-one seemed to mind that I was leaving so I don't think the extra hours are completely compulsory.
I haven't had my hair cut since February 17th and unlike my usual "just a trim, please" I asked her to cut a good two inches off.  It feels soooooooooo much better! 
I've put my picture in extras. A record of a COVID trip to the hairdressers.
Later on in the afternoon I met my mum at Waddesdon for the Christmas market and lights. It was really lovely!
Driving over I had my first taste of HS2 disruption round here. My route is cross country and halfway there I arrived at a Road Closed sign and had to take a detour through the back end of nowhere.
But I got there eventually and met my mum in the car park just after 3pm.
We walked up to the house and had a browse round the Christmas Market stalls. I had expected it to be hideously busy and not be able - or want to - get anywhere near any of the stalls, but it was fine. Nowhere near as busy as last year.
So many lovely things!! Mum bought a couple of chutneys for me and Mr K (after we tested them all extensively to choose the ones we wanted) and I took a photo of a decoration my mum liked on the wonderful A Blackbird Sang stall so I could order it later. Three hanging metalwork ships with the lyrics to I saw Three Ships cut out. Beautiful!
By the time we'd finished browsing it had got dark and we walked down to the Stables for cappuccino and cake. And it was free, yay!! We had to pay £5 each for the tickets to get in but they gave us a £5 voucher each for the cafes or shops. 
We were a bit sad that the beautiful starburst lights weren't in all the trees down there and up the path back up. That was a real highlight last year and it wasn't the same. 
Rather than crossly walk up the dark path we decided to take a longer walk up Miss Alice's Drive. And I'm so pleased we did!! It was beautiful. The route had been decorated with a When You Wish Upon a Star trail and had lanterns and lightshades all decorated with pictures and wishes by 5000 local school children. From funny to sweet to heartbreaking. 
I wish to be a Premier League footballer; I wish for a baby brother; I wish for a PS5;  I wish to pass the 11+; I wish I could go to the moon; I wish to be a spy; I wish I was a mermaid; I wish COVID was cured; I wish I could go to (friend's) house; I wish I could see Nanny; I wish I could play football again; I wish I could go to gymnastics
The COVID ones were heartbreaking. So many just wanted to go to a friend's house or to see grandparents. Far more than wanted a PS5.
At the top we headed to the actual Winter Lights trail. Lights, music, elephants, fireflies, sparkles. It was amazing!! And, again, so much better with fewer people than last year. 
Once we'd been round we went round to the shop. I do like to buy a Waddeson Christmas treasure. We had to queue for ages because it was one in one out. I bought my dad a sparkling train decoration and myself a hanging crescent moon. As well as a sparkling train decoration. Christmas wouldn't be Christmas!!
Then it was time to go. But not before getting one last cup of tea.
And watching my house fail to sell at the auction. It got close to the reserve price so I texted the agent to say we'd accept the winning bid.
Fingers crossed!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.