Attracted by the flax flowers

S and I had an evening walk at Takaroa; the Meola reef  park. Lots of dogs had come to play with each other, watched indulgently by their humans. The extra was a photo taken almost out of frustration. Piwakawaka (fantails) are so rarely still long enough for me. Tonight one sat looking at me for long enough to get one photo. 

Except that I had altered the ISO and shutter speed, for much brighter conditions. A black featureless image was the result. 

Not long after we came out from under the new growth of recovering native bush, I saw a couple of common mynahs land in the flax bushes. First call was the dry grey flower stalks, and I guess they were after insects in such a setting. Then they moved to a big bush with bright flowers, and perhaps they were interested in nectar as well as insects. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.