WITH A SONG IN MY HEART

By lizzie_birkett

Art Day

After a quick vacuum around I settled down at the table to carry on with my drawing. In my head I always plan to do a simple sketch and then colour it simply too but I always end up adding more and more detail.
I need to practice simple!
I also need to finish a poem I started.
This is one part of lockdown that I quite like - having time to do what ever takes my fancy on any given day as there is nowhere we have to be.

Since I got a Motorola phone earlier in the year - I haven't been able to get on with it at all. Frank can vouch for that as I spend so much time cursing the damned thing!
Anyway, the reason I had to get it was that my previous one - an LG - wouldn't stay charged for longer than 15 mins. It was only 2 years old. The man at Tesco said it was typical of LG and nothing could be done with it and I'd be better getting a new phone. Stupidly I took his word for it. (Frank has had his LG for 3-4 years and it's still fine).
I don't know why I didn't think of it before but it came to me the other day that I could probably just get a new battery for the LG. I found the correct one and it arrived today. Now I'm using my old phone again and it feels so nice and familiar. Everything is where it should be and the phone is smaller than the Motorola so is more comfortable to hold and stash in my coat pocket.

Things seem to be moving quite fast now with the Covid vaccine which is positive news. Frank met an elderly man this morning on his walk and he said he'd had his first jab.
I don't think we can let our guard down for a long time though even when we're vaccinated. The tier system has changed nationwide now as the new variant spreads more easily.
I am filled with gratitude and awe for the epidemiologists, virologists and scientists working on these vaccines. They are working their socks off to get it just right and to save as many lives as possible.
I certainly don't envy hospital staff as the numbers rise, many having to give up annual leave to be on duty on the front line. They must be exhausted and scared too. We really must do everything we can to avoid needing hospitalization to ease their load.

Anyway, nearly tea time,
Then jim jams and a bit of telly. I'll need to see what delights I have recorded!
We finished watching Black Narcissus last night and really enjoyed it.

Thank you Blippers for all your lovely comments and stars/faves yesterday. Much appreciated.

Stick to the rules - stay safe ;-) X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.