WITH A SONG IN MY HEART

By lizzie_birkett

Goodbye 2020

What an odd year - no comings or goings,
No huggings or touchings - a year of avoidance.
Of empty streets, empty pubs, empty shops,
Of masking up, locking down, staying local, staying in,
Watching news, numbers, graphs, deaths, stats.

My Couch in 2020

I closed the door on the outside world.
Removed my mask, washed my hands
Put the kettle on and gave a sigh of relief
And thought about what to do next.
I gathered some things and sat on the couch.
Thoughts of loved ones, the children,
I tucked carefully under a cushion,
Along with plans of train journeys and boat trips.
Favourite books, I piled on the seat at the back.
Stories, poems, pictures to comfort and inspire
Next, I brought pens, pencils and sketchpad
I drew pictures of things and honed my skills.
I brought sunshine back from walks on the moors
And some leaves, pine cones and acorns.
My worries and my fears, I let float to the floor
Then slid them under the sofa, with my foot.
I placed my knitting basket on the floor
The wool - in colours that filled me with joy -
Felt soft and warm and natural
I cast on 98 stitches and knitted the front.
Then, a folder of songs and my ukulele
I brought to the couch and I sang
And I sang and played the chords
'You are my sunshine my only sunshine...'
Of course, I had my phone and tablet
A hot mug of coffee, with biscuits to dunk
While I had a break and checked
Blipfoto and Facebook and Instagram.
I checked on family and friends
'Are you OK? A temperature? A cough?
Oh, get that checked out. Stay safe.'
'Are the kids OK? Oh, good.'
My couch was soon crammed full
With just enough space for me at one end
And everything within my reach
Even a little dash of hope was there.

Lizzie Birkett
New Year's Eve 2020

Thank you Blippers for all the comments, stars, hearts, support and encouragement during this most difficult year.
Next year WILL be better! Love to you all :-)Xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.