Canal Pond

This "canal pond" was once the central feature of a famous garden designed by Charles Bridgeman in the early 18th century. Since then it has been left to revert to nature and is now managed by Herts and Middlesex Wildlife Trust "to optimise the habitat it provides for wildlife and to preserve the historic characteristic of the water body".

It is several months since we visited this area, and possibly he first time we have visited in the winter months.  Apart from the sticky, muddy paths we found several parts almost unrecognisable in winter garb, which was quite disorientating.

I took a few photographs while I was there (naturally) and thought I might have some reasonable images but, when I got home and downloaded them to the computer, I was rather disappointed. I think this one needs something in the foreground water - preferably in the bright patch of reflected sky - but where is the local wildlife when you need it?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.