Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Looking Back...

This year, 2020, is nearly over.  It has been a year unlike any other in my lifetime and I will spend some time tomorrow recording some of the lowlights of the year.  But today, I wanted to take a few minutes to  acknowledge a few good things that happened during the year...

We spent a lot of time working in the yard this spring, clearing massive amounts of invasive plants from several large sections of land.  And, where possible, we replanted native plants.  My perennial pollinator gardens continue to grow.

We fledged 41 baby birds from our nest boxes this summer.  I think that may be a record!  We had bluebirds, chickadees and house wrens in the boxes.  Not included in that number were all the tree and shrub-nesting birds that reared young on our property.

Hubs and I took up kayaking, making our first (and second) kayak purchases in late summer.  I can hardly wait for next spring to head out to the lakes again.

We celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary this summer.
 
I learned a lot of new words this year.  Some of them I hope I never need to use again.

I finally upgraded to Windows 10.  I know, that may not seem like a big deal, but it was.

I enrolled in Medicare (eek) in preparation for turning 65 in one month from today.  

Although I've not been able to visit my parents this year, we've kept in close touch via phone and text.  

I've developed much better  obsessive habits in terms of hand washing, not touching my face (or anything else), and just a general awareness of germy places.  

I've taken a ridiculous number of bird and bug photos, as most of you can attest to.  Today's shot, by the way, is a male House Finch with a female entering from Stage Right.

I survived the Great Toilet Paper Shortage of 2020, as well as the Presidential Election.  Not sure which was more stressful.  No, wait, I know.  

TIck tock...

xo
Debbi




 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.