Badger sett

There must be quite a colony of badgers in this sett, there are numerous entrances in use, plus disused. The leaves & soil around the area scuffed up where they've been foraging for worms, slugs & other slimy morsels. There are plenty of acorns under these trees as well.   I'll have to pop some peanuts in my pocket next time I plan to walk this way. They're nocturnal of course so no likelihood of seeing them. Indie was racing around following the scents. She loves walking on Knighton heath as much as me.
This morning I came across a small plastic lunch box tucked between teh roots of a tree, a small rock placed on top. I obviously had to check it out, inside was a small plastic something ? and a film cannister, which I annoyingly could'nt open. My fingers were frozen so I clipped the box back together and replaced it. I must remember to take another look next time I go along this path. I also heard 3 woodpeckers, & spotted one coming across & landing in the trees at the back of the heath.
Back to Mum's picked up her shopping list, I could tell she was'nt keen on visiting the supermarket, which was fine. I did her shop & mine, did the self serve checkout as the queue was crazy & only 2 staff on the checkouts. Filled the car with petrol. Had coffee & Danish pastries plus a catch up with Mum then home. Oh dear!!! Mr Grumpy's got the grumps. I 'd spent too long at Mum's. Hey ho!!! Packed all the groceries away then rustled up some blueberry & blackcurrant compote to eat with my breakfast. Fruit from my allotment, that I had in the freezer. I tried the blueberries just thawed .... not nice. :-(.
A few other jobs to do then it was 4.30pm, time for Tipping Point & an early glass of cider.

Thanks to BobsBlips for hosting Wide Wednesday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.