Onwards and upwards....

By Yana1

2195. Last Blip of 2020!

Last year at this time we were in Ayr preparing to go to a black tie dinner for New Year's eve....how little did we realise that 2020 was going to be possibly the worst year we were going to have....but....here is a little collage of some of our (very few) highlights of the year....

January - Celebrating the start of the new year at a black tie dinner...
February - Youngest step daughter trying to enjoy her birthday just before her husband's funeral, she was so brave...
March - the launch of Animal Crossing New Horizons on the Switch and coffee with my son and my friend, Sarah...
April - meeting my grandson on the doorstep because we weren't allowed to go inside, but we still had a lot of fun...
May - my eldest wearing the mask I made them to work on the NHS frontline..
June - socially distanced picnic lunch outdoors for my grandson's birthday....
July - socially distanced picnic lunch indoors for my hubby's birthday..
August - two of my grandchildren going back to school, the youngest starting for the first time...
September - our trip to Aberdeenshire and the first proper holiday of the year, sadly interrupted by a near family tragedy....
October - celebrating our 16th Anniversary...in Dundee!
November - FaceTime is the new means of "seeing" distant family, we haven't seen my eldest for over a year now...
December - my youngest looking the happiest he's been in a while, the lockdown has been terrible for him as he lives alone, but he's doing great, studying, working and trying hard to keep going...

Even some of the highlights were tinged with sadness this year but 2021 promises to be much better...as soon as we're all vaccinated and the numbers of infections starts to fall again as a result...a few more months of challenges to face then hopefully we can resume our lives properly....not forgetting those who will never get back to normality...those who have lost loved ones or who have been left with poor health....I wish everyone all the very best for 2021, stay safe, stay healthy....

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.