LD 283. 10 done , 11 started

The last missed day in my blip journal was the 30th of December 2010, so today’s blip starts me off on my eleventh year of daily blippiing 

I signed on, so to speak, in November 2009 but in the first year uploaded only intermittently.   At the very end of 2010 I decided to see (as I have noted in this space more than once) if I could record the election year of 2011.  Then when I had completed all 365 of those entries (much to my surprise) I wondered if I could record a full Parliament, something I achieved in 2016.   

At that stage the  ambition spread to two parliaments, the second of which is up this May  at which time I will retire from as the MSP for Argyll & Bute and as a Government Minister though the  Parliament itself is scheduled to stop sitting on the 25th of March.

I have no immediate plans to stop doing this,  though it would be equally true that I have no plans to go on for ever.    So in celebrating what I always think of as my true blip birthday - the day I really started to make this activity a part of my daily life - I do so grateful for all the interest people have shown, thankful for the vast amount I have learned from looking at other people’s pictures  appreciative of a site and a community which helps me remember key things and glad that I found a way to spend a least a moment of each day in the last 3652 thinking about what I see and trying to react creatively to it.   

Not always succeeding, I know, but I hope occasionally hitting the mark.

So a Happy New Year to all blippers wherever they are, when it comes (and as I post this it has already come to New Zealand and Australia) though it is a very  different and more difficult type of New Year than the ones we usually celebrate.

My picture, by the way, is just something I noticed when passing the Christmas tree in our conservatory this afternoon, but as I have spent much more time at home in 2020 than in any previous year (an interesting blip challenge in itself ) perhaps it also is appropriate.   

Cathleen and Rula - who I have to acknowledge have their lives disturbed  by blipping from time to time - make an appearance too if you look closely.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.