In Remembrance of Those We Lost in 2020: Dexter

I think that all of us will agree that 2020 was a very difficult year. There were so many things we lost. Among them were people and creatures we loved, including my beloved tabbycat Dexter, whose beautiful little face used to grace these pages quite often. I am so glad that I featured him in a Blip on his 12th birthday back in April; who knew that it would be his last?

It happened so suddenly. One day he was fine. The next day, his appetite was poor. Two weeks later, he was dead, of cancer. We buried him in the meadow, amid many, many tears. My brain still can't quite process it; it hurts to think of him, but I hope that doesn't last forever, for he was a wonderful cat and deserves to be remembered with smiles instead of tears.

He is not the only one we lost. In summer of 2019, I showed you my three sweet aunties, at a family reunion. This past March, Aunt Betty (the one on the left in the photo) passed away at age 90, just as the Covid pandemic quarantine began.

My husband and I were sick as could be, so we could not have gone anyway, but the situation was such that a proper celebration of her life could not occur. I did not get to see my aunt one last time and pay my respects.

Perhaps you had a similar experience this year. Among the things I am most sorrowful about losing was time with my aging parents, whom we only visited on a few occasions this year. What is more precious than sweet time? And you can never get it back. . . .

Our cat Dexter was fortunate to be admired and loved by many both here on Blipfoto and on Facebook, where I posted pictures of him frequently. So I know there are many who mourn with me. Somehow that makes it a little easier.

I got Dexter from my beloved big sister Barb, with whom I had many adventures. Dexter was one of three tabby boys with white paws. His brother Skeeter was adopted by my friend Celia. His brother Bogie was adopted by Barb's very good friends Joel and GeoAnne, and when Barb passed away in July of 2019, they adopted Dexter's mom JR as well. What I'm saying, I guess, is that they are family.

A small package arrived in the mail on Wednesday, and I opened it to find a gift from Joel and GeoAnne: a little remembrance ornament for the tree, with Dexter's photo in it. The picture is one I took several years ago, and I giggled when I set up the shot. I named it Tabi-Wan Kenobi. "This is not the Tabbycat you're looking for," Dexter said, waving a white paw in the air.

Around the picture, which is framed by two angels, it says "In Loving Memory." Beneath the framed picture is a little cat-angel with wings and two halos. "God bless this cat," it says. Thank you, dear friends; it is perfect!

So here is one of my final postings for 2020: a remembrance of Dexter, and my sweet auntie, and all of the things we lost this past year, including sweet time with those we love. May the next year be better!

I usually include one soundtrack song, but there are two that came to mind on this day. First is Amy Grant, with I Will Remember You. And second is Bruce Springsteen and crew, with If I Should Fall Behind.

P.S. In totally unrelated news, I have been promising for some time to show you the tree that lives inside my house. There is a photo of it in the extras; it is painted on the wall of the room that was Dexter's. You know how much I love trees, so having one inside the house like this is just about perfect.

These lyrics are from the Springsteen tune:
Now everyone dreams of a love lasting and true
But you and I know what this world can do
So let's make our steps clear that the other may see
And I'll wait for you
If I should fall behind
Wait for me

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.