Frosty

It was the coldest night of the year, and in the morning the garden was coated with frost. I toyed with going for a walk, but really needed to get on with a report that needs to be completed by Monday, so contented myself with photographing frost crystals. This was my favourite effort, partly because I like the pink and green of the seed head peeking through the frost.

The cold weather has bought more birds into the garden, and I broke up my writing by frequent breaks to watch and photograph some of them. It was wonderful to watch a whole charm of goldfinches discovering the seed head of en evening-primrose, but my extra is one of the pair  of blackcaps that have taken up residence. They're both very feisty birds, chasing others away from their preferred feeders. They both really dislike robins, and I watched several aggressive encounters. 

So it's a quiet evening in for us, hopefully like the rest of the UK. Although parts of 2020 have not been the best, I'm going to have some happy memories too. I've enjoyed having more time discovering nature in my own little patch, and benefited from a respite from leading so many walks, talks and other events. Through work, I also got to know the Ramsgate area and rediscovered the joys of Saltfleetby-Theddlethorpe NNR and The Wash. I'm incredibly lucky to live in comfort surrounded by a loving family, and I value that even more highly now. 

I hope 2021 is easier all round and wish you all good health and happiness in the coming year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.