Castles In The Sky

Saltaire's very own piece of majesty.

Hidden next to this is a wonderful wonderful independent bike shop with extremely helpful staff who give their time and take an avid interest in you, regardless of whether you are going to buy anything or not.

Hypothetically speaking , if I were to have been measuring up bikes, then the staff would have spent over an hour with me letting me have a play. Hypothetically speaking had I been looking properly then they would have sat me in the office to go through options with me . Hypothetically speaking I may have found the exact bike for my future which will be a one off purchase and one that will last until I am too old and wisened to ride anymore .

Despite my anti shopping rant the other day , this kind of shopping is different . Local people and local business is what it's all about. Bikes keep cars off the road, bikes have a purpose and are not pink and plastic and liable to break within five minutes. Bikes keep you fit ergo I save the NHS money by not contributing to the obesity crisis. Local shopping involves engaging with staff and it becoming a social process rather than a conveyer belt impersonal transaction. I consider hypothetical bike shopping a small nod towards protecting the future of the planet and an investment in my athletic career.

" Career. Yes Rach. Carry on with the delusions . Also, after all you said about shopping the other day; know what you are ? A big fat hypocrite "

" I am not fat "

" Tell it to the judge "

X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.