An Dùbhlachd

The Gaelic word for December is An Dùbhlachd. Literally translated it means “the blackness”.

I am glad it is over with for another year. 

I was up bright and early - about 06:00. Aye, a real Scot. No lying about in bed half the day nursing a hangover. 

I was over at West Wemyss bright and early too - before 10:00. It was promising to be a lovely morning and I thought I might beat the crowds out trying to walk off their hangovers. Mostly my plan worked, with only one Covidiot to try to avoid. 

It was as lovely as I expected. Calm, quiet and sunny. The beach above the high water mark was actually frozen. That does not happen often. 

I set myself a few tasks over breakfast. To call them resolutions might be pretentious, but one was to resume my Gaelic studies. That had been on “pause” since October. I had reached the “what’s the point, we’re all going to die anyway” stage back then. 

This afternoon I got out my notes, signed into Duolingo and decided to pick up where I left had off. To my amazement, I could. Very rewarding. 

The Blip and Extra are just scenes from the beach. It has been a good start to a new month and new year. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.