Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

New Dubai

HAPPY NEW YEAR again to all my blip buddies! I created a video with a new year's message if you have a couple of minutes...

So, after a very late night (or early morning??) I'm so thankful we had a relaxed morning. G had the idea to have a drive out so I suggested checking out Bluewaters Island which I saw last week. Whilst driving to it, we veered to the right and ended up on the Palm Jumeirah. We haven't been on it in ages, so it was a bit of a "see what's new" drive.

My blip and extra sum up the afternoon. This part of Dubai has changed beyond recognition. There is so much that has been built and so much building still going on, it's incredible. The Palm certainly has a lot of hotels on it and they are massive, each one trying to out-do the other! I lost count after 12.

Getting to Bluewaters Island from the highway wasn't as tedious as last time. I think G was impressed but we didn't stay long as lots of other people had the same idea to check it out on what they thought might be a quiet day! We definitely want to return and explore more.

Back home and we had biryani for the first meal of the year. Neither of us can remember the last time we had it, so it tasted extra special!! The evening ended with an almost three-hour-long Zoom call with friend Hilde. She's in the Black Forest which has experienced snow overnight. She made us a snowman whilst on the call just to demonstrate how thick it is there!!

That's the first day of the year done. I hope it has started well for you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.