Me on a horse

This was taken in 1981. I am riding my horse Rosshire Buff (Buffy) on the right and my sister MsPeahen is riding Biddy. Unfortunately I haven’t ridden much since that time as I had 4 children in 4 years and I needed a babysitter before I could go off on a ride.  We sold Buffy and I moved to live in town so that was the end of my riding career. We belonged to a group of adults who did dressage and I enjoyed a few five day intensive courses including one when Cathy was only 2 months old. I don’t know if I could get up that high these days. When the children were a bit older we had two ponies live with us that were used for the “Riding for the Disabled” charity. Consequently they all learnt to ride on them, obviously very quiet ponies as they were trained to have disabled children on and around them. 

I found this in a pile of papers, the outcome of trying to clean up the office. Some things you want to keep but there isn’t any place to put them specifically except “miscellaneous” along with a list of “15 Reasons for Tidying up your Bedroom” and Bryan’s “Christmas List to Santa” from a long time ago. Lots of memories. 

Another cold, damp day here with 7 new Covid cases in NSW and 10 in Victoria. 2 stupid people caught a flight from Canberra to Melbourne and were told they had to go into 2 weeks hotel quarantine, so they escaped and travelled back to NSW before being caught and fined $19,000. We could live a reasonably normal life if people didn’t go to cafes, pubs, the gym or church or nail parlours and spread the virus. Or travel too far from home. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.