Anne's Daily Encounters

By dutchdelight

HAPPY 2021 to you all !

A wintry scene from my files to start the year 2021 with and like everybody I wish that this year will be better, much better and happier than last year! The bat-virus gone, no more that C-word in our scope and just a return to our freedom of movement and no more social distancing!
But I fear that all the change for return of normality will not come as quick as I wish and most wish in 2021; I hope the light is there even tho' I don't see it yet.

This blip from my files is from a painting made 130 years ago by the painter Vasily Surikov; he'd has his nameday today like all the Vasilis and Vasilia in the world do today. 
This painting portrays the 'Storming of the Snow Fortress'; a cheerful and popular traditional event in the small town of Krasnoyarsk, Siberia, where the painter Vasily Surikov lived his youth and remembered this Winter's play round Carnaval; so he painted it from memory in 1891 ~ I love this Wintry scenery with all the social gathering.... wouldn't it be lovely if it could be played again soon! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.