The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Stone, moss and thorn

We went for another drive today, but were late setting off (my fault) so the light wasn't as good as we'd hoped. This time we went South to Hyde, Minchinhampton, Avening, Tetbury, Tetbury Upton, Westonbirt, all Cotswold villages and towns of chocolate-boxy loveliness. (I do not think I'd be allowed to Iive there because my hair is too short and I don't have a son called Rupert. In any case, there is no cinema, health food shop or bus/railway station, but they are pretty places).

CleanSteve stopped near a hill with some sheep, but I could not get the sheep to pose satisfactorily, so I blipped the drystone wall opposite. As well as the thorn branches laid on top, there was also barbed wire! I couldn't see anything in the field worth rustling or stealing.

Then we came to a frozen pond in Leighterton, with ducks skating on top of it, but I was too cold to even get out of the car. There were quite a few people about, all breathing aerosols into the air and taking snaps. I left them to it. Our plans to drive on to a local beauty spot, Coaley Peak, overlooking the Severn Vale, were thwarted, owing to snowfall. We drove home and had spicy soup and toast to warm our frozen cockles.

I've just heard that the Forest Green Rovers home game had to be abandoned owing to fog! The stadium is located at the top of a steep hill, almost in the clouds. One day in the foreseeable future, a new stadium will be built closer to the M5, to cope with the increase in traffic that comes with rising up the divisions (or it is tiers?)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.