WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

What a difference

... a day makes. Overcast, windy, and bitterly cold, so I'm glad we went out yesterday. I stayed indoors and made muffins. Later I thought I'd give Bruno the Peugeot a run out to the shop in Fabrezan for some essential supplies. But he hasn't moved in six weeks and was dead as a doornail. Far too cold to be faffing about with jump leads, so I left him for another day. As for Mystère, he is not happy with this experience of winter, although he is cosy enough here, reluctantly participating in my EBCB*.

Like PaulaJ, I log all the books I've read, so I looked back on my books of the year. I can't take a photo of them as she did, because a number of them are on Kindle, which has been an excellent companion during lockdown. One that was in hard copy was of course my favourite of the year, The Mirror and the Light. Runners-up in no particular order: an oldie, Laurie Lee's As I Walked Out One Midsummer Morning, given extra savour by reading it in the place he ended up. Laura Cummings' On Chapel Sands, which sounds as if it's going to be a "true crime" book but definitely is not. And Edith Wharton's The Age of Innocence, a magnificently cruel portrait of New York high society in the late 19th century.

Oh, and here's my full year in books.

* Emergency Black Cat Blip

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.