A Walk Through Deb's Life

By debsthoughts

Changing

Today was a big day of change for me. I watched my baby granddaughter, Olivia for nine hours today. She doesn't sleep much for a not-yet-three month old. Her mommy tells me she sleeps through the night though, so I guess we can't expect her to sleep through the daytime hours as well. She is a joyful little girl, smiling and 'talking' an awful lot when she is awake. The really big change is that I was out in the living room most of the day (instead of locked up in my office in the front corner of the house) with Olivia, and there was a lot to see out back today.

The weather decided to change today. It snowed several inches last night and then changed to sunny and dry. The photos are of both the same Great Blue Heron (I think). These birds are strange the way they can change their stature - Long necked and sleek, to scrunched down and puffed up with frills. The one on the left was taken early this morning and the second was taken later on in the early afternoon. There are two, as I mentioned the other day, and this could be either the same heron or perhaps one is the male and the other its mate, but either way it was worth blipping. I shot them with my P&S while standing inside with the sliding glass door open.

Today I am grateful that Olivia is in my care for 8 weeks so that I can shake up my routine and reap the rewards, as they are plenty. I am also thankful that these herons have chosen to live in my backyard. Finally, I am grateful for change (ouch, that's hard to say).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.