There was a lot of black ice on the pavements and road earlier, but thankfully I don't have far to go before I'm off them. However most of the mud wasn't frozen today, see extra. 

I have a reputation amongst my walking friends for always ending the walk with cleaner trousers than anyone else. Today's trousers are the result of two day's walks so I  don't feel I've let myself down too much, but my generally clean legs are because of something S once said to me, with the result that I walk as if I were wearing crampons. Not exaggeratingly so, it's not obvious to anyone but has become second nature to me.

"Where are your gaiters?" I hear you ask. They're in the boot of the car and that's where they stay unless there's going to be bog, I don't like gaiters and there's no bog round here.

4.37 miles
1 hour 31 minutes

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.