Training Day

Rich got a call yesterday to offer him a spot on training for home dialysis for the rest of this week, so on the first day of national lockdown I found myself out of the house for only the third time in as many months! I had been quite anxious about this as I knew pretty much nothing about how dialysis works at home, and 4 days of training made it sound like a daunting propsect. Luckily, it turns out that 3 of the 4 days of training are basically just repeatedly setting up the machine with a "dummy tummy" for practice, to reduce the risk of you fluffing it up at home and getting an infection. Today's training was mostly theory, which again helped put my mind at rest (not sure why I thought dialysis at home would be all about blood which was making me panic, but no blood goes in or out, thankfully!), then the trainer walked us through the machine set up, and Rich got to have a go. It turned out that the machine set up itself isn't really hard at all, the hardest part being not absent mindedly touching your clothes/self after washing your hands! I think I'll have a go at setting up tomorrow, which is already making me nervous despite the complete lack of stakes! I just don't want to be crap at it, you know??

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.