A final goodbye to my lovely dad

As you know, today, with just 30 of the closest family and friends, we celebrated the life of, and said our final goodbyes, to my lovely dad.

On reflection, we have so many people to thank for today. Dad came home, ready for his final journey, at about midday. The funeral director Megan, treated everyone with respect, and her whole team were dignified and professional in their treatment of dad. His final journey from 1 Stanstead Drive to the church was a sedate drive through the Forres estate, and I like to think dad was tipping his cap to the neighbours he has lived alongside for the last 50 years. The hearse was bursting with the beautiful flowers prepared by mum’s talented sister in law, Sue. How lucky we are to have an award winning florist in the family. She had a soft spot for dad, and I’m sure he did for Sue too. She did him proud with her floral displays today, and we owe her a huge thank you.

Our men loyally stepped up to carry dad, which took strength and courage. Dad would have been so proud to know his sons in law Jon and Bruce and grandsons Cameron, Daniel and Henry, and his cousin’s son John, took him on that last important path.

The Curate Kate was excellent in her summarising of the life and character of my dad. She was heard to say, after the service, that she wished she could have met him.

The readings were beautiful, and again Jon, Bruce, Cameron and Daniel all did heartwarming presentations of their respective readings.

The committal was held at the crematorium which gave us a little time after the church service to reflect on what a lovely balance of prayers, readings and tributes it had been. It couldn’t have been better. Few dry eyes, which only proves the love that was felt for our lovely dad.

Finally, we followed dad to Wollensbrook Crematorium for his final journey.

I personally want to thank Mum for being so strong. You can do this mum, dad would have been so proud of you today. And to Manda who has had to do the majority of the planning and preparation. Liaising with the funeral directors and planning the order of service. You have been amazing xx

I’ve had two glasses of champagne, so my head is feeling a little more fuzzy than normal. Dad wasn’t a drinker and indisputably is one area that we were alike. Thank you dad for so many things. For giving me so many amazing memories to treasure, also for my pessimism, my untidiness, and my slim legs......I guess you can’t have it all!

Dad. May you ride your big noisy old BSA through those pearly gates, and for all eternity enjoy the freedom of the speed in your wheels, and wind beneath your angel wings.

Rest in peace my kind, generous, quiet and very very loving dad. We love you x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.