Covid jab

This morning I took mum up to the hall behind St Paul's Church to have her second covid jab. She had to sit for 15 minutes afterwards, so I stood at the back door and took this photo and thought about this little building. It says National School 1844 above the door. It is where I started school aged 4. This bit was the school hall, and the classrooms were further along to the right - and have long since been demolished. We used to walk from our classroom outside in knickers and vest, to the hall for our p.e. or music and movement when a giant TV on a high stand played out in the corner telling us to 'stand tall like a tree' or 'crouch down like a tiny mouse' - you get my drift. Anyway, I only recall it ever being called St Paul's infant school, not St Catherine and St Paul which it is now. When a new one was built we all walked over to it in a giant crocodile. Possibly in 1970 or 71.

The other things I remember about this little tiny school are getting punched in the face by a 'big' boy who was probably 6. His name was Terry Wiskin. ( not sure of the spelling) I had a horrible nose bleed. Also remember not being happy on my first day at school because I was sat between Christopher Sale and Jonathan Pettifer. I didn't like boys. I think I was quite scared of them, because I had never really known any boys. So Mum got me moved, and I made my first friend - Alison Skipp. I wonder where they all are now! It is a significant place, this building. Attached to St Paul's Church where I was christened in 1967, married in 1989, and where will be returning tomorrow to say our goodbye prayers for dad. Strange that I had that time standing outside today, to reflect on those things.

We went in to Morrison's wary of keeping away from people. But it was quite empty.

When we got home Manda arrived, and we spent the rest of the day checking all the last minute things were done for tomorrow. In the afternoon we received a beautiful flower display from dad's cousin Joyce in Colchester, who isn't able to come tomorrow. They are beautiful.

I went for my week 4 day 3 run, in the dark. Glad I did it, but it felt quite hard. Hope to start week 5 on Thursday if I feel up to it.

A nice bath and now an early night with Matthew Shardlake (the character in my book!!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.