A tidy writing desk

A shock when my alarm went off at 7am, but I dragged myself out of bed about 10 past. Crept down stairs so as to not wake mum, and got to work as soon as I could. A good days work done, but as we have all been off over the Christmas/New Year week, there will be an influx of post and emails to deal with over the coming days and weeks. I have been granted compassionate leave to cover the rest of the week, which means I can do more preparation for the funeral Wednesday.

Pleased to get plenty of work done, although there will be a couple of pensions for my colleagues to pick up at the end of the week. Heard from Mollie who started her new job today. She was outside most of the day, supervising children at the nursery. She said it went well, but tomorrow she needs a few more layers on! I’m so relieved that nursery schools will remain open.

I finished work at 5.45 and went up to Sainsbury’s to get a few bits.

After dinner, I sorted out a few little jobs mum needed doing, then I started to do a bit of tidying of paperwork after Boris (unfortunately I didn’t get a comb for Christmas) Johnson’s latest live announcement . This writing desk is, I think, a 1970’s piece of furniture. It has been in the house ever since I can remember. I want to remove unnecessary bits of paper, and just make things easy to find. The little drawers are where our birth certificates lived, and things like medical cards. They are bulging a bit now, because Dad did not possess the ‘throw away’ gene - and thus, when it came to paperwork, didn’t throw very much away. So if you need it - at least we know it is here somewhere....it is just finding that ‘somewhere’ can sometimes be a challenge! Pleased now to have the most recent tv licence, water, car and house insurance etc in one folder, with nice labelled and coloured dividers.

A cup of tea now before bed. My book is so good, I need to get more reading time in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.