Strawhouse

By strawhouse

Bill Won!

19.12.20
My dad asked me to do his day in the shop for him today as he was nervous about being in there all day with COVID numbers going up and up.
Buckinghamshire was put into Tier 3 at midnight and my mum and dad are in Oxfordshire with lower numbers and still in Tier 2.
I didn’t particularly relish the idea of sitting in the shop all day especially as I’m working from tomorrow through to Christmas Eve and I suspect it’s going be pretty hideous, but of course I said yes. If a little ungraciously! And I used it as an opportunity to tell the Little Misses that we all have to do things we don’t want to sometimes, especially to help our friends and family.
God, I’m annoying sometimes!!!
I met my dad in the shop just before10am and had a bit of a chat and run through of things. It’s been a while since I’ve worked there.
He was very grateful that I was doing it for him and also worried about me working in Tesco. He said I shouldn’t feel I have to.
I do feel I have to but at the same time am getting more and more uncomfortable with the numbers going up and up but no-one there appearing to notice or care.
I actually enjoyed being in the shop. It was busy enough all day to make the time go quickly but not so busy it was stressful. Perfect.
Also perfect was my lovely husband bringing me a cup of tea when I messaged him pathetically at 1pm to say there was a kettle and teabags but no milk. He’s ace!
Less perfect was listening to Watford lose 2-0 to Huddersfield.
And least perfect of all was listening to the news that we’re going into a new Tier 4 from midnight which means the shop will be closed again and thousands of Christmases will be ruined.
We’d already made the awful decision not to get together this year. My dad and brother are vulnerable and with the kids at school and me in Tesco it seemed sensible. If heartbreaking.
So at least we weren’t devastated by the Tier 4 news on that front.
But it was supposed to be my annual Christmas party tomorrow with my mum and dad, Mrs L and Mr T. We’d already cancelled it being at our house and decided instead to go for a walk at Stowe to exchange presents and stuff our faces with a festive picnic of mince pies, sausage rolls, liebkuchen, cheese puffs and hot chocolate.
Now that’s off too as we can’t mix households even outside. Bloody stupid Coronovirus.
After the Tier 4 announcement I decided that enough was enough and I don’t want to spend next week working eight hour shifts in crazy pre-Christmas Tesco. When Mr K picked up up at 5pm we went up to the store and I found the manager to explain that I wouldn’t be in tomorrow. He was pretty pissed off and snapped that I’d have to put it in writing and hand it in to the customer service desk.
Mr K kindly said if we went home to write the letter he’d bring it back later.
So it was home to write a resignation letter for the second shortest job I’ve ever had and, once that was out of the way, enjoy Strictly which has been a ray of sparkly loveliness amidst all the crapness.
I am thrilled that Bill won. I’ve always loved him and I’m a little bit obsessed with Oti! I was so disappointed at the launch show that she’d got the joke act and would be out in a week or two. How wrong I was!!!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.