At The Going Down Of The Sun............

My first job this morning was to go across the road with the snow shovel and the small amount of rock salt I had left in the garage.
It was the funeral of our neighbour who died on Christmas Eve and his widow is severely disabled  an cannot walk without a lot of help, so I was determined to make it as easy as possible for her to get into the funeral car.
I cleared the path, the pavement and half of the parking area (in case the car reversed into get closer to the front door). After that I scattered the salt but there wasn't enough so I went to the grit bin at the far end of the road .......... nothing - clean - never been filled since they put it back a couple of years ago. So it was along to the one near the main road. There were half a dozen handfuls in the bottom (and no evidence of any being used by the residents ) so I had that.

After that I went for a short walk so stretch my back (it doesn't half knacker it shovelling snow). The path that goes down past the school has been gritted at least once a day since the first frost, but none of the paths from the houses has had anything. There are another few shots taken on the walk are over there too.

As I got near to the house one of the other residents was just finishing clearing the other half of the parking bays. He told me that when he had been walking the dog he had come across a Council worker he knows sitting in one of the Council's pavement cleaning tractors waiting on the grit being delivered. They had a bit of a conversation and set  the world to rights before going their own ways. Then, lo and behold ..... along came the tractor and gritted the pavements on both sides of the street  - twice!.
When the hearse and funeral car arrived there was no problem for any of the neighbours to stand and give respect (and there were a lot).
The bad news is I found out that the mother of one of Bag's friends who stays along at the end of the road) passed away on Christmas Day, so there will be another funeral later this week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.