Housenick Memorial Park ...

.... Northern Mockingbird. 

I thought I was going to have another stay at home day but the weather was so nice today that we went out for a lunch time walk!  We finally had some sunshine after what's been a rather dismal year so far weather-wise. 

Because Richard works in a hospital he was able to (and recommended) get the COVID-19 vaccine today.  And ... although he doesn't like to admit it ... he is of a certain age.  When he returned from getting the vaccine we went over to Housenick Memorial Park for a quick walk. 

When we got there we were happy to see that the Township was having the dead Tree-of-heaven trees removed from the front part of the park.  Unfortunately, the spotted lantern fly (invasive species) has killed an entire copse of these trees.  And last fall had left lots and lots of egg sacks attached to most of them.  That's why we were so happy to see them being cut down where ordinarily we are saddened to see trees chopped down. 

As we were leaving the park I saw this lovely Northern Mockingbird at the top of a large bushy area.  I rarely get to photograph these elusive birds but this is the second time I've been able to do so here at Housenick Park.  Taking a cue from Debbi I've decided to document all the birds that I post to blip this year and have created a tag in which to follow my progress ... #KangaZuBirds2021.  This list will include all the birds I post this year ... not just from my own yard ... more variety that way.  I hope you enjoy following along. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.