Friday's painting...

Out of my window this morning in the dark were snowflakes falling,  the size of my hand. I won't be going for a drive this morning. So tidying stuff indoors in this Tardis today...

I went out yesterday morning again, very early.

But temperatures were low. Minus 5 C and my car was a frosted iceberg. Some serious defrosting needed.

So I didn't do a run on dual carriageways for car driving practice so I am okay on Tuesday for driving to the hospital appointment. I just stayed on gritted roads and went to the Post Office in the next village. I have not been there before. I noticed it the other day, and that it had a village shop as well. So that combines getting my money out of post office, getting stamps, and some food shopping all in one go. And it is no further than the High Street Post Office I normally use.

There was some lovely food in there. So I bought some. But the credit card machine for the food part wasn't working. There was a bad internet connection. So the lady had to wait while her husband served me in the Post Office, and then I paid her cash.

What was really nice was they both wore clear face shields which was great for me and lipreading. And I told them so!

I posted some postcards and letters. And I explained about Postcrossing and sending others postcards, as well as receiving them. And that people from other countries complained to me that the postage stamps from the U.K. are boring.  The postmaster's face lit up, like a beacon.

He explained he was interested in philately. And when special issues came out he got them in. My High Street post office won't do this, neither will another main post office I use. So I said I was very interested. Then he showed me some new Welsh stamps he has just got in. I'll have them, I said. He also showed me some postcards which go with special edition stamps, but he didn't have any of those stamps left.

However I do because I ordered some of these ones before Christmas online from the Royal Mail. I don't know if you remember but my order was split up, parts were late, and one part wasn't delivered at all. I had to chase that up, and it was all more bother than it was worth for the sum of money I had to pay out.

Now I have a lovely Postmaster who is interested in stamps. He showed some cards he cannot sell me until next Thursday, and there will be stamps to celebrate our National Parks to go with them. I said those cards had my name on them! So, I will go first thing next Thursday and get those cards and stamps.

I am highly delighted. And it is fantastic they wear the clear shields that enable me lipread!

If we get further restrictions in lockdown, then this Post Office and Village Shop is less than a mile as the crow flies. I cannot ask for more! You know where I will be shopping now! No big stores for me any more!!!

My painting in Procreate. I was trying to create the frost at sunrise. Not an easy task!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.