Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Wood and Iron 4

Today wasn't much of a going out day - very cold and not at all blippable - so I had a quick walk round to St Batholomew's Church and shot this rather pitted hinge on the side door.  I loved the textures and those very muted colours.

I've been trying to look up more about the various types or patterns of blacksmith-made hinges from the past but without much effect.  I thought these kinds of hinges were called 'strap hinges' - as indeed some of them are - but this actual one might be a spear hinge (more likely than an arrow hinge, don't you think?)  The arcane law of it all!

As a kid I had a pony (yes, I'm one of those) who I used to take to a blacksmith a couple of miles away every time it needed shoeing.  So of course I used to watch how the blacksmith worked his forge.  It was warm and fascinating and to me it smelled wonderful (don't ask me why, it's disgusting really).  I've always been glad I saw how ironwork was traditionally done.

Okay, that's enough rubbish from me.  And it's the end of the week.  So have a good, safe and happy weekend  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.