Skip's Blips

By Skip

PUG, a family story

Many years ago, when I was a very little girl, my father loved to sit with me on his lap and tell stories about his childhood...and I loved listening to them. Before me, he had told the same stories to my older sisters, and years later he would tell them to all his grandchildren, including our three daughters and all their cousins. In this way, we shared our family history.

One of Daddy's favorite stories was about "Pug," a little dog that was part of his family when he was six or seven years old. It is an old, old story because my father was born in 1900, and the story of Pug has been told and retold in our family from that time forward.

Today I saw not one Pug, but two, along the trail in Chagrin River Park, and I was briefly, and happily, transported back to the storytelling sessions I enjoyed with my father many years ago. Because there were two Pugs in the park today, I chose one for the blip and the other for today's extra. I am sure my father, were he able to see it, would be delighted by this blip. I am equally positive many current and future generations of his family will love it too. Family stories are a treasure, and Blipfoto makes it possible for us to tell...and retell...them. Thank you, Blipfoto!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.