Sunshine after the rain

With the usual Saturday chores finished by lunchtime, Annemarie and I decided to go for a walk. We went to Drenthe, to the heather fields of the Balloërveld, near Balloo (of course) and Rolde.

When we arrived we saw the parking was packed. Ok, we weren't the only ones then. But the area would probably be big enough for all of us.
And it was. Every now and then we passed some couples and families.

I brought my camera along and was capturing the scene every now and then. But the light wasn't great and I had no tripod, just my 24-70 lens and on top of that, I was supposed to walk on.

I should have brought my 16-35, but since we hoped to bump into a flock of sheep I choose the 24-70.
No sheep unfortunately. Way in the distance we saw them. But that spot was not on our route.

Halfway our route a rain shower came over suddenly. That wasn't part of the deal either!!
But, after it (15 minutes later) the clouds broke and the sun bursted through. The atmosphere totally changed in a split second. The whole scene became orange. A beautiful sight with the dark blue/grey clouds drifting away in the distance.

Around the time of sunset we were back at the car and at 17.10 I parked my car on my own driveway in Delfzijl. Our fresh-nose boxes were ticked.

NB: A very close watcher can see the remains of a rainbow behind the left tree, bending to the left.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.