carliewired

By carliewired

Duck, Duck, Goose!

Did they migrate here?
Do they live here all the time?
I see who feeds them.

~ carliewired

It was a sunrise worth getting up for again today. Beautiful! I tippy-toed out onto my deck in my nightgown to get this shot. 

I have been curious about why I see so many wild ducks and geese around the city in winter. I really can't see that there's much to eat for them once the vegetation is gone. I expect they must find something to eat in the rivers. Today, I found some answers as I drove around McArthur Island in the afternoon. People arrive in their cars to feed the birds. It actually caused a small traffic jam as someone tossed food out from their vehicle while the ducks, in response, swarmed across the road to clean it up. I didn't see what the food was. I can only hope it's appropriate for the birds as they have more winter to get through.  They all seem to be in very good condition. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.