Mallards & Trumpeters

Sitting on an ice
shelf does not seem like a
comfortable place

~ carliewired

It was calm, cloudy and - 9 C when I drove away from the house just after 10. I wasn't in a hurry. I was hoping that some sunshine might show up this morning, but that didn't happen. 

I dropped off some soup at my daughter's before I drove over the bridge to Riverside Park. I parked near the railway bridge and walked to the edge of the river to overlook the bank. Just as before, the waterfowl were settled in on the shoreline by the park's construction zone.  It was just mallard ducks and trumpeter swans. There were no Canada geese to be seen anywhere. There was a train sitting stationary on the railway bridge. I could hear an engine running but couldn't see it. I stayed long enough to have a chat with a couple of ladies, then turned for home without a walk today. 

I picked up a belated second breakfast on the way home. 

I will be having dinner with my daughter this evening. She's making Greek food - all my favourites. 

Today's forecast offered a mainly cloudy day with a high of -4 C. I'm encouraged that our daytime temperatures will rise to above freezing over the next week. Although there will still be freezing overnight with icy mornings, it will be a relief not to contend with arctic temperatures during the day. I will adjust my walks accordingly. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.