Sunshine Short-lived

Coffee before six
Breakfast before eight, so now
it's time for a nap! 

~ carliewired

I was really hoping the weatherman was right today. We were supposed to have a few hours of sunshine this morning. I was out on my deck watching the light come back into the world at 7:30. It was -15 C. I waited another hour to get a shot through my trees of the sunrise. Prospects looked good! 

At 9, I thought I should get out there for some neighbourhood shots. I'd discovered the city truck had finally thrown some sand on our cul de sac. I drove up the hill in second gear and found no sand on the connector road above or on the main road leading into the city. Wow! 

I drove down the hill very carefully. I have some kind of anti-skid mechanism on my truck. When it kicks in it makes a very odd low clatter like teeth chattering. That noise ran all the way down to the light. 

I drove to Schubert Drive to get a view of my mountains across the North Thompson River. The sun was already being obscured by cloud. I parked in front of the elementary school and took the crosswalk to the Rivers Trail. The road was all compact snow and slippery. I got my mountains shot and turned back to the truck. Getting back into the truck I got a shot of some die-hard joggers on the Rivers Trail. I can't believe that's safe in cold weather and with icy walkways. Surprisingly, some poor woman slid off this road and into the river driving her small car last week. She survived! 

I'm home making soup today. The sun is gone and we might expect some snow flurries this afternoon and a high of -8 C. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.