A Cold Walk

Not a day to be
out for long. Not a day to
be driving too far.

~ carliewired

It was a treat not to have to clear the driveway before taking off this morning at 10. It was - 9 C with gusting wind and some drifting snow. The roads were not in the greatest shape for city driving. Intersections and hills needed more sand. Compact snow was everywhere. I was very careful driving down to the stop light and even more careful taking off from the light. 

I made my walk in McArthur Island very short. I stopped on the north side to see Canada geese cuddled up near the parking area. No ducks to be seen anywhere today. The bench near the foot bridge still held the wreaths I spotted there before New Year's. They are well-covered in snow now. I got a photo across the frozen slough to my dirty truck and my  mountains. Just a streak of blue sky appeared to encourage me. 

I drove on to the south side of the island beside the Thompson River. I found it challenging getting from the parking space to the Rivers Trail due to the mounds of snow along the traffic routes. I spied eagles in the cottonwood trees overlooking the river. I walked that way hoping they would not be disturbed and gone before I got close. The river is frozen over so there would be no fishing for the eagles today. I suspect they were watching the other birds. Three eagles would perch, with one taking a cruise over the shoreline and returning. I headed back to the truck with cold hands. 

On the way back home there was a vehicle that had gone off the road just before the stoplight at the bottom of my hill. A city vehicle had stopped to assist. I drove on up the hill in second gear. I was happy to return home and will stay home. 

The sky has brightened since I returned before noon. We can expect a high of -8 C and some snow flurries. Our days will start to warm up a bit starting this weekend. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.