All about Lallybroch

By Lallybroch

Birdbox

There are lots of birdboxes in the trees at The Gyle Shopping Centre which I walk past every day.

"The Gyle ran a competition at the very end of last year, where students were given the opportunity to design bird boxes. Seven local primary schools participated including Canal View, Cramond, Carrick Knowe, Gyle Muir, Roseburn, Sighthill and St. Josephs' primary.

From each school, four designs were chosen and brought to life. The students' bird boxes were made by Dobbies and the final winning boxes have been placed in and around our grounds. Those we could not place have been sent to the Primary Schools for their own use.

It has been a long process due to the selection process, production of the boxes and the planning of their placement. But we are happy to say they are finally in position, with thanks to our Gardnener. There are 36 bird boxes that can be seen and the schools each have a map to locate the students' bird boxes".


This one is my favourite. I'm not sure if the birds are having a natter or a smooch but I think it's a really sweet image! I was surprised to read in the info above which I took from the Gyle website that there are 36 boxes - I could probably locate about 10 of them but will need to have a good look for the others some time!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.