All about Lallybroch

By Lallybroch

Signs

Although Livingston is a bit of a sprawling place mainly made up of housing estates and industrial estates, it does still have nice areas which still have their original "village feel". Bellsquarry, where I go to Baby Sensory, is one of them. It's a nice walk up to the village hall there each Wednesday morning with Ethan in his pram.

He seemed to really enjoy the session today. He was really alert and unlike other weeks, the only time he cried was when it finished and we had to leave! We walked back via Morrisons to get some groceries and he fell asleep on the way. While we were in there, a shop assistant commented on how cute he is (the best way to get a mothers attention, huh) and asked "how old is he, about 3 weeks?" She couldn't believe it when I said he's 16 weeks! Just shows that although he is now growing well, he's still very small for his age.

Ethan continued to sleep for the next few hours, until we were at the breastfeeding group in the afternoon! I really enjoy going to the group but feel like I'm stuck at a certain point with the feeding and I think even they are at a loss as to what else they can do to help. The majority of Ethans feeds are breastmilk (mixture of expressed and feeds from me) but he has formula feeds as the last feed of the day 4 or 5 evenings a week when the constant expressing just gets too much for me. I feel that it might be time for me to start standing on my own two feet but will see how it goes over the next few week. There is another woman who has been going there for a few weeks who has a similar history to me - emergency C-section at 35 weeks, baby in Neonatal for a few weeks, now having similar breastfeeding issues to me. We've been chatting a wee bit and exchanged numbers today so will hopefully meet up outwith the group soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.