The unforgiving minute...

By Melsimel

Brandy, makes me ... Drunk, actually.

"Claret is the liquor for boys, Port for men, but he who aspires to be a hero must drink brandy."
[Samuel Johnson]

This was most definitely an emergency blip.

I bought this cheeky little tipple 10 years ago, from Cape Town. We'd been over to KWV the day before, my least favourite vineyard (too commercial), but they'd had this sweet little handcarved box, with a glorious decanter of brandy and a little numbered certificate. I decided I didn't want it, until the next day, with about 28 minutes to spare before I had to check in at the airport.

Cue 30 mins of mental driving, yelling, gesticulating and general stroppy madness. The boyfriend at the time was Zimbabwean - the only person I know who could have made that journey, (relatively) safely on those roads.

10 years later, the boyfriend is long gone, (ex-ed, rather than dead) and i've still never opened the sodding brandy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.